Thursday 21 June 2018

About TAFE National Scholarships

If you are a prospective or current Australian TAFE student you could be eligible for a TAFE National Scholarship.

TAFE National Scholarships are provided through the National Scholarships Foundation established by TAFE Directors Australia (TDA) in 2013.

There are two types of scholarships: equity-based scholarships, some of which are known as Mick Young Scholarships, and merit-based scholarships, known as TAFE National Achievement Scholarships.

Equity-based Scholarships

The Mick Young Scholarships assist students experiencing financial hardship to achieve employment related qualifications through TAFE study. 

During 2016/17, Mick Young Scholarships will be available at a number of TAFEs throughout Australia.

Other TAFEs offer equity based scholarships under their own name. These include TAFE Queensland Scholarships and Sydney TAFE Scholarships.

Merit-based Scholarships

TAFE National Achievement Scholarships recognise and reward outstanding performance by students in vocational areas that are critical to industry and community needs.

Launched in 2014, these scholarships are in the process of being finalised - information will be made available on this website as it comes to hand.